Sunrisers Hyderabad

Team: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
City: Hyderabad, Telangana
Ground: Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad
IPL Debut: 2012
Number of IPL Titles: 1

Who are the Sunrisers Hyderabad?

The Sunrisers Hyderabad were late joiners into the IPL. The team was founded in 2012, in order to replace Hyderabad-based franchise, the Deccan Chargers (who were terminated by the IPL after the Deccan chronicle went bankrupt). The Sunrisers went on to make their first IPL appearance in 2013, in the 6th edition of the IPL.

The Sunrisers home ground is Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium in Hyderabad which has a maximum capacity of 55,000 people. The franchise is owned by the Indian media conglomerate Sun Group. On the field the team is captained by one of the current best batsmen in the world, New Zealander, Kana Williamson, and the team is coached by 2019 World Cup winning coach Trevor Bayliss.

Even though the Sunrisers were a late addition to the IPL, they have now manged to build a strong reputation around the IPL and, in particular, are usually known for having strong bowling attacks. Whilst they have also manged to develop a very strong fan base, with the fans calling themselves the “Orange Army”.

The Rajasthan Royals are best known for being the winners of the inaugural edition of the IPL. Over the years they have developed a reputation for being able to find unknown, high-potential players, and on a uglier note, a team that has been involved in several controversies.

The IPL History of Sunrisers Hyderabad

The Sunrisers Hyderabad, even though they were a late addition to the IPL, can and should be considered as one of the most consistently successful teams in the IPL. This started in their inaugural year where the managed to make it to the play-offs. This was surprising but a big statement by the then new franchise.

It was unfortunately followed by a couple of lean years, with the team finishing 6th for the 2014 and 2015 season. However, then came their first and only IPL title in 2016. Ending the season with 11 wins and 6 losses, they beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

A subsequent title has not yet followed for the franchise, but they have shown amazing consistency following their 2016 win. They made it to the playoffs every year up until 2021. But, have only made it to the final on one more occasion in 2018, where they finished the tournament as runners up after losing to the Chennai Super Kings.

Who Holds the Sunrisers Hyderabad Records?

The most runs scored for the franchise is dominated by Australian opener David Warner. He is considered to be one of the greatest IPL and T20 players of all time and his franchise record supports this.

Between 2014 and 2021 he scored 4,014 runs for the franchise in 95 innings, managing 40 half-centuries and 2 centuries (one of those being the franchises highest score in an innings – 126) at an average of 49.55.

To put this into perspective, the next highest run scorer is franchise legend and current Indian player Shikhar Dhawan who has scored 2,518 runs in 85 innings.

Indian bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the franchises highest wicket taker, having taken 118 wickets in 101 matches for the Sunrisers since 2014. Kumar also holds the franchise record for best bowling figures in an innings, with 5 wickets for 19 runs, against the Punjab Kings in 2017. “Bhuvi” has been ably supported by Afghanistan leg spinner and global T20 star Rashid Khan who took 93 wickets between 2017 and 2021.

Check out our free cricket betting tips feed for up to date IPL betting tips as the tournament unfolds. We offer free daily IPL tip and predictions during the IPL tournement for all our readers

Best IPL Betting Sites
1xBet Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000

10CRIC Welcome Offer

150% Bonus up ₹32,000

Megapari Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹17,000

Bet365 Welcome Offer

Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits

PureWin Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹10,000

4raBet Welcome Offer

200% Bonus up to ₹20,000

Top Welcome Offers

Parimatch Welcome Offer

150% Bonus Up To ₹20,000


10CRIC Welcome Offer

150% Bonus up ₹32,000


Megapari Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹17,000


Bettilt Welcome Offer

Monster ₹100,000 Welcome Package


Bet365 Welcome Offer

Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits


BetWinner Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹8,000


Betway Welcome Offer

Free Bonus Up to ₹4,000

Pure Win

PureWin Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹10,000


Melbet Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹8,000

More IPL Betting: If you're betting on this years IPL, we have a full list of betting sites with great IPL betting apps along with their welcome offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the Indian Premier League, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer IPL bonus offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2023 Cricket Bet India


Free Bets 15

Tips 10